Congress riding on anti-incumbency wave in Mizoram

Anti-incumbency factor, in Mizoram, has worked in the favour of the main opposition Congress, which has surged ahead of the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), which has been in power for the last two terms.

According to the reports from Mizoram, Congress has won eight seats in the 40-member state assembly, and the former chief minister and state Congress chief Lal Thanhawla has won South Tuipui seat in Lunglei district.

The other winners include Lalrinmawia in Hachhek seat in Mamit district, R Lalzirliana in Tawi seat, R L Pianmawia in Tuivawl both Aizawl district, and P C Lalthanliana in Lunglei North. P.C. Lalthanliana of the Congress won the Lunglei North seat defeating his nearest MNF rival by 705 votes, while Congress candidate R.L. Pianmawia won the Tuivawl seat. He defeated his MNF rival by 473 votes.

The reports say, Congress is also leading with a small margin in the prestigious Aizawl North-II seat, Tuirial and Kolasib seats.