Harbhajan Singh, Murali Kartik back for first 2 Tests against Pak; Sehwag, Pathan out

Mumbai, Nov 14 : Much on the expected lines with few minor changes, the 14-member Test squad of Team India for the first two Test matches against Pakistan will have six bowlers - three spinners and three pacers, with off spinner Harbhajan Singh making a comeback.

Left-arm spinner Murali Kartik has been chosen for the third spinner's slot.

However, former vice captain Virender Sehwag failed to make a cut this time also, in spite of having a remarkable average of 91.14 runs against Pakistan. All-rounder Irfan Pathan has also been kept out for the first two matches.

The new Test squad, which will be captained for the first time by Anil Kumble, has the three senior most players- Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly, apart from ODI skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who will also be the vice captain of the Test team.

Delhi opener Gautam Gambhir has been left out of the squad along with spinner Romesh Powar, as the latter lost the place to Harbhajan.

The three-match Test series begins on November 22 in Delhi, followed by in Kolkata, beginning November 30 and Bangalore from December 8.

The team: Dinesh Karthik, Wasim Jaffer, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (vice-captain and wicket keeper), Anil Kumble (Captain), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Sreesanth, Yuvraj Singh, RP Singh and Murali Kartik. (ANI)