Congress set to hold reins for third consecutive term in Delhi

Congress is set to hold reins for third consecutive term in Delhi legislative assembly. Thanking the people of Delhi for voting in her favour, Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit stated that the national capital voted for the party's development agenda.

Speaking from her residence where jubilant party supporters danced to drumbeats and burst firecrackers, Dixit said, "I congratulate the people of Delhi and many many thanks to them for their support and affection for the Congress."

"We went to the polls on the development ground with honesty and unity, and people have voted for that," said the 77-year-old leader said. 

"Nobody should play politics over terror attacks and all parties should join hands in defeating terrorism,” said Dixit on BJP's poll campaign on the issue of terrorism.

According to the latest reports, Congress has won five seats and leading in 35 others, and Dikshit was leading by over 1,100 votes in New Delhi constituency against BJP legislator from Saket Vijay Jolly. On the other hand, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief ministerial candidate V.K. Malhotra was leading by over 2,500 votes in Greater Kailash constituency.