BJP drops 18 of sitting MLAs

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party of Chhattisgarh has shown door to 18 of its 51 sitting MLAs. They were dropped from first list of candidates for coming assembly poll scheduled to be haled on next month.  A total of 58 names got a place in the list.  

Chief Minister Raman Singh has been shifted from Dungargaon to Rajnandgaon constituency. He is representing Dungargaon assembly segment in the present assembly. .

After releasing the lists party General Secretary Ananth Kumar said "We have decided not to field 18 of the sitting MLAs in Chhattisgarh. This decision has been taken as per the political and social realities. Out of this, three MLAs have lost their seats due to the delimitation process,"

Chhattisgarh has the 90-member Assembly out of which 29 seats are reserved for Schedule Tribes.  But the first list of  BJP includes 32 ST candidates. Tuesday's list included seven women candidates and two sitting MPs (Bilaspur and Raigarh).

Names of the remaining candidates will be announced soon said Mr. Kumar.