Ruling Left marks a come back in Tripura

Agartala, Mar 7: Ruling Left marks a come back in TripuraThe Left Front in Tripura has marked a come back to power for the fourth consecutive term winning an absolute majority in the 60 member Assembly.

On the other hand in Meghalaya, Congress emerged as the single largest party bagging 25 out of 59 seats for which polling was held on 3rd March.

The ruling Left Front has secured two-third majority in the 60-member Tripura Assembly winning 44 out of 53 seats.

The Forward Bloc, which was part of the Front in the outgoing assembly, did not fight the election following differences with the CPI-M over seat sharing.

Chief Minister Manik Sarkar (CPI-M) from Dhanpur Constituency defeated his nearest rival by 2,900 votes.

The Left Front had captured power in 1993 and had also won the two subsequent elections in 1998 and 2003.

Prominent candidates who have won elections include Finance Minister Badal Chaudhary, INPT President Vijay Rankhal and CPIM candidate Aghore Dev Burma. The Opposition leader and the Congress nominee Ratan Lal Nath is leading over his nearest CPIM rival in the Mohanpur Constituency.

The Deputy Speaker of the State Assembly Subal Rudra and the State Minister Vijay Laxmi Sinha have been defeated.

The CPI-M bagged 41 seats while its partners RSP two and CPI one.

The Congress, which led a coalition Ministry in the outgoing Assembly, is expected to form a government with the support of independents and two smaller parties - Hill State People's Democratic Party (HSPDP) and Khun Hynnieutrip National Awakening Movement (KHNAM), political analysts said.

The NCP, led by former Lok Sabha Speaker P A Sangma, garnered 14 seats followed by the United Democratic Party (UDP) 11, HSPDP two and KHNAM and BJP one each.

The NCP, a constituent of the UPA government at the Centre, is unlikely to be part of Congress-led Ministry, the analysts said. (ANI)

Business News: 
Political Reviews: