Pratibha to be Sworn in as India`s First Female President

Pratibha PatilPratibha Patil will become India’s first woman President as she will be sworn in as the 12th President of the Republic in the Central Hall of Parliament at 2.30 today.

Ms. Pratibha will become the first woman to hold the country’s uppermost constitutional position, and she will be referred to as Rashtrapati.

K G Balakrishnan, Chief Justice of India will oversee the oath of office and confidentiality to the novel President.

Today, Ms. Patil will arrive in Parliament in a ceremonial procession together with outgoing President A.P.J. Abdul Kalam. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi are among those slated to accompany her to the Central Hall.

The officials stated that Ms. Patil will also lecture to the combined session of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, followed by state governors, top civil and military officials and senior diplomats.

Political Reviews: