Murray wins third season title with Miami victory over Djokovic

Murray wins third season title with Miami victory over DjokovicMiami - Andy Murray became the first man on the ATP Tour this season to win three titles as he hammered 2007 holder Novak Djokovic 6-2, 7-5 to claim the Miami Masters crown on Sunday.

The rapid-fire win in one hour, 42 minutes added the Masters 1000 honour to Doha and Rotterdam titles won by the 21-year-old Scot since January.

Murray, fourth in the world but fast-closing on number 3 Djokovic, has now won trophies in three of his past five Masters events, including Cincinnati and Madrid in 2008; he played a final against Rafael Nadal a fortnight ago at Indian Wells.

The winner improved his season mark to 26-2 as he lifted the 11th title of his career.

Murray dominated the opening set in 33 minutes and rallied calmly from 1-4 down in the second as Djokovic felt the heat both on court and from the Scot's steady game.

Murray is climbing dangerously close to Djokovic's third ranking with only 170 points of separation. Murray will drop a mere 520 points between Monte Carlo starting next weekend and and Roland Garros while Djokovic is losing 2,800 points in the same period. dpa