Saina in World junior Final

Slumdog Millionaire marks a perfect adieu at the London Film Festival

Slumdog Millionaire marks a perfect adieu at the London Film Festival

Murder case against MNS chief in Dhanbad court

Italian film 'Mid-August Lunch' wins Satyajit Ray award

An Italian film 'Mid-August Lunch' has won the 13th Annual Satyajit Ray Award at London film Festival.

The award is presented by Satyajit Ray foundation.

Previous winners of the Satyajit Ray Award include "California Dreamin" (Endless), "The Lives of Others", "Pavee Lakeen", "The Woodsman", "Someone like Hodder", "Rachida", "In The Bedroom", "Uneasy Riders", "Boys don't Cry" and "Smoke Signals".

The film tells the story of a middle aged man who looks after the elderly.

"Tulpan" won the Sutherland trophy given to a director for most original and imaginative feature film.

BJP, Trinamool part ways in Bengal

Kolkata : The West Bengal BJP has decided to end its ties with Trinamool Congress. BJP will contest the coming Lok Sabha polls on its own.

"The poll alliance between Trinamool Congress and BJP in Bengal no longer exists," state BJP General Secretary Rahul Sinha told to anews agency.
"Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee, who is eying on Muslim votebank, has openly declared that she does not want to keep truck with BJP in the state." He added.

Voting time changed in naxal affected areas of Chhatisgarh

There will be a different time-table for Voters to cast their votes, in naxal affected areas of Chhatisgarh.

Voting in such areas will start at 7 am and the ballot boxes will be sealed at 3 pm. This change will help the security and polling persons to deposit the ballot boxes in their respective strong rooms before evening.

The Election Commission (EC) has announced these changes citing the security reasons.  

"Looking at the security aspects, voting time has been changed in some constituencies. The same voting time will also be applicable in those booths where election materials will be flown in by helicopters," said Gaurav Dwivedi, Joint Chief Electoral Officer, Chhattisgarh.