Rahul to hit campaign trail in Karnataka on May 12

In-charge of the Party’s youth wing, Rahul GandhiNew Delhi, May 11 : All-India Congress committee General Secretary and in-charge of the Party’s youth wing, Rahul Gandhi, will hit the campaign trail during the second phase of Assembly election in Karnataka on May 12. Ten districts will go to polls in the second phase on May 16.

Rahul would make a transit halt in Goa on Monday morning, on his way to Karnataka for campaigning for the party.

Soon after his arrival at the Dabolim airport Rahul would leave for campaigning in Kumta in North Canara district, Kundapur in Udipi district, Modgere-Sc in Chikmanglur district and Harpanhalli in Devengere district.

Rahul’s five-day visit to Karnataka before the first phase of polling was described as a source of inspiration for the party’s young brigade.

A majority of the young leaders in the Karnataka Congress feel that Rahul Gandhi’s visit will help youngsters in the party to come forward to take the mantle of leadership forward.

Congress President Sonia Gandhi will also campaign for the second phase of assembly elections in Karnataka on May 13.

According to Congress sources, Gandhi will address poll rallies in Koppal and Mangalore.

Gandhi, during her first leg of the campaign addressed public meetings in Kolar and Bangalore city on May 7.

On Saturday, an estimated 60 per cent of the 1.73 crore electorate cast their votes in the first phase of polls held in 89 assembly constituencies of Karnataka. The polling was by and large peaceful.

"Polling was peaceful and there were no reports of any untoward incident like booth capture or violence from anywhere in the state," said Deputy Chief Election Commissioner R Bhattacharya.

He said 64 per cent voters exercised their franchise in rural areas while 50 per cent turnout was recorded in urban centres. Around 7,700 central officials monitored the polling held in 18,598 stations across 11 districts today.

The polling percentage could increase as people waited in queues inside polling stations even after the close of polling at 1700 hours, he added.

The districts include Bangalore, Bangalore Rural, Tumkur, Chickballapur, Kolar, Ramnagara, Mandya, Hassan, Mysore, Kodagu and Chamarajnagara.

Of the 224 assembly segments in the state, 66 will go to polls in the second phase on May 16 and the remaining 69 in the third phase on May 22. (ANI)

Political Reviews: