2,194 contestants for Rajasthan polls

2,194 contestants for Rajasthan pollsIt's final. A total of 2,194 candidates are going to contest Rajasthan assembly polls.

Rajasthan has a 200 member assembly which will go to polls on Dec 4.

Out of 200 seats going to polls, the ruling BJP has fielded 193 candidates, Opposition Congress 200 followed by BSP 199.

Besides recognized parties, altogether 1,019 Independents are contesting the upcoming polls.

Of 2,194 contestants this year, there are 2,052 male and 142 female candidates. BJP and Congress fielded 32 and 23 women contestants respectively.

Protests rock Srinagar ahead of polling

Violent protests rocked Srinagar ahead of second phase of polling in J&K.

EC orders to register case against Chhattisgarh CM

EC orders to register case against Chhattisgarh CMThe Election Commission of India has ordered to lodge a case against Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh for seeking votes over FM radio even as second-phase polling was underway.

EC has directed the Returning Officer to file the FIR. The complaint was made by independent candidate Virendra Pandey. Pandey alleged that Singh spoke on two local FM radio channels seeking vote in favour of BJP.

68 % polling in Chhattisgarh

68 % polling in ChhattisgarhThe second and final phase of voting for Chh

J&K polls: record 102 candidates in fray for I phase

Despite the poll boycott call by separatists, a record number of 102 candidates are trying their luck for first phase of polling from 10 constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir.

First phase of polling will be held on 17 Nov.

The Election Commission had announced a seven phase polling programme for J&K.

The contituencies going to the polls are - Gurez, Bandipora and Sonawari in the Kashmir Valley, Leh, Nobra, Zanskar and Kargil in the Ladakh region and Surankote, Mendhar and Poonch-Haveli in the Jammu region.

Sonawari and Bandipora will see 22 and 19 candidates respectively in the fray. There are six candidates in Gurez, Poonch-Haveli has 13, Mendhar 12, Surankote 11, five each in Kargil, Leh and Zanskar and four in Nobra.

Congress releases list for Rajasthan polls