Delhi polls: 5 AAP candidates win by more than 50,000 votes
Delhi polls: 5 AAP candidates win by more than 50,000 votes

New Delhi, Feb 10 : With the Aam Aadmi Party sweeping the Delhi assembly elections, winning 67 out of the 70 seats on offer, five candidates of the Arvind Kejriwal-led party won by a margin of more than 50,000 votes.

The highest margin of victory was achieved by Vikas Puri candidate Mahinder Yadav of the AAP, who beat his nearest rival, Sanjay Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party by 77,665 votes.

The others candidates who won big were Ved Parkash, who beat Gugan Singh (BJP) by 50,023 votes in Bawana; Sanjeev Jha, who beat Gopal Jha (BJP) by 63,122 votes in Burari; Prakash, who beat Arvind Kumar (BJP) by 63,937 votes in Deoli; and Amanatullah Khan, who beat Braham Singh (BJP) in Okhla by 63,657 votes.

The chief ministerial candidates of both the BJP and Congress lost, with BJP's Kiran Bedi losing narrowly to SK Bagga (AAP) in Krishna Nagar by 2,277 votes and Congress's Ajay Maken losing by a whopping 51,170 votes to Som Dutt (AAP) in Sadar Bazar.

Incidentally, Bedi's loss was the closest margin by which a constituency was decided. The other seats that saw a close race were Shakur Basti, where Satyendar Jain (AAP) beat SC Vats (BJP) by only 3133 votes; and Laxmi Nagar, where Nitin Tyagi (AAP) beat BB Tyagi (BJP) by 4,846 votes.

Meanwhile, AAP's Arvind Kejriwal beat his nearest rival, BJP's Nupur Sharma, by 31,583 votes in the New Delhi constituency.

This is the first time that a non-BJP, non-Congress government has come to power in the national capital. It is also the first time that the Congress has failed to win a single seat in an election in which it actively contested. (ANI)