This year's Mark Twain Prize for American Humor goes to Eddie Murphy

Every year, a serious award is given to an American comedian. This year's Mark Twain Prize for American Humor was received by Eddie Murphy on Sunday, October 18. While describing the prize, the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts said that the Mark Twain Prize honor people who have had an impact on American society in ways similar to 19th century’s distinguished novelist and essayist well known as Mark Twain.

The award was first given in 1998 to Richard Pryor. The prize highlights social criticism and insightful observation brought out by humor. Jonathan Winters, Lily Tomlin, Will Ferrell and Ellen DeGeneres are among previous recipients of the award.

According to a statement from the Kennedy Center, Murphy said that he was deeply honored to receive the award from the Kennedy Center and to be a part of the ones on the distinguished list of past recipients of this prize.

Prior to the ceremony, the comedian posted on his official Facebook feed that ‘it’s going to be great!’ This post also carried a picture of Mark Twain along with a quote saying, “It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled”.

In 2009, the award was received by Bill Cosby. Murphy, who is quite popular for impersonations of well known people, reportedly broke into his Cosby voice and mocked the comedian, who was facing multiple rape allegations.